The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) is an intergovernmental organization in which its 189 Member States and around 690 Sector Members coordinate work to ensure the development, efficient international operation, usefulness and general availability of telecommunication facilities and services worldwide.

The ITU was founded in 1865 and became a specialized agency of the United Nations in 1947. The ITU is subdivided in three sectors:

See also
External links