Telecom ABC - D

Dolby Digital


Dolby Digital is the brand name from Dolby for its 5.1 surround sound. The surround sound has 6 audio channels. Five channels with the full range of frequencies that can be heard: 3 - 20,000 Hz. These channels are: left, center, right, left surround and right surround. The sixth channel is the subwoofer. This channel is for the low frequencies from 3 - 120 Hz only.

Dolby Digital uses AC-3 for the audio compression.

Dolby Digital is also called Dolby Surround Digital or Dolby Surround AC-3.

Copyright © 2005 Telecom ABC. All Rights Reserved.
Template inspired by